Jan. 16th, 2009

alias_sqbr: the symbol pi on a pretty background (Default)
So I just cut myself some of the bread I made earlier today and it's undercooked :( Mostly done, but a few mushy dough bits in the middle. Thanks to a mistake with temperatures it's a little overcooked on the outside so I don't want to bake it again (also it's cut now!)

Any clever suggestions on what to do with it? It's very nice bread otherwise, pumpkin spice with treacle.

Microwaving worked adequately, I guess, but it went a bit mushy. Toasting wasn't very effective. I guess I could make some sort of oven baked..thing (I don't think garlic bread would work with this bread!) Maybe bread and butter pudding.

Also googling "undercooked bread" found me a few other pumpkin/carrot breads(*), is this always going to be an issue? I did screw up the temperature (fan forced instead of regular), but not that much. Maybe I should make a smaller loaf next time.

EDIT: OOps, meant to post this to [livejournal.com profile] cooking. Well, if you guys have any ideas.... :D

(*)The only success story was cutting off the cooked bits then steaming the rest in the oven which I might try.

Profile

alias_sqbr: the symbol pi on a pretty background (Default)
alias_sqbr

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 345 67
891011121314
15161718192021
222324252627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 12:56 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios