alias_sqbr: Asterix-like magnifying glass over Perth, Western Australia (australia 2)
[personal profile] alias_sqbr
So! Today we moved in with Cam's parents since we STILL HAVEN'T FOUND A HOUSE and despite everyone's best efforts Lily was finding having us at her house too tiring (and fair enough, we said we'd only be there for a week...two months ago)

On the downside this means we live in Rockingham, 50km (35 miles) south of our old house and 45 minutes south of the city by train. On the plus side we live directly opposite a massive shopping centre and bus hub (there's even a pedestrian underpass!) with every fat-girl-friendly clothes franchise I can think of as well as some nice food franchises. There's also a nice non-franchise Chinese place down the road, and a library, train station, and sea shore within a km or two.

Cam's parents have been really sweet and welcoming, Cam's mum made a nice meal full of things I could eat then apologised that she wouldn't be cooking for us every night (but here were the leftovers and others ingredients in the fridge) Being pensioners they understand the importance of quiet lying down and naps, and at least thus far we seem to be able to work around each other's needs amicably. Right now Cam's mum is resting her room, I'm resting in mine, and Cam and his dad are watching airplane documentaries in the loungeroom.

Kira is still deciding how she feels about us, but seems to be warming up in her nervy, stand offish way. She comes up and rubs/sniffs at me then wanders off when I look at her. I hope Lily's cats will cope ok with the loss of 67% of their cuddles. CUDDLE THEM FROM US, LILY. My aim was to get the one human hating cat, Greta, to accept pats before we left, but the closest I got was getting her to lick gravy from my fingers.

Visiting people in the north (like Lily!) is going to be much more of a pain, but visiting those in the south will be much easier. There's basically a bus going straight from here to my parents house, so I should finally try visiting with my chair (it was three different forms of public transport before and I just couldn't face it) For now, however, I plan to rest, and maybe get myself a library card.

Every time I feel embarassed at living with my in laws at 34 I remind myself that the idea of having your own home as a sign of adulthood is a relatively new social construct. And hopefully we can help out as much as we cause extra work, eg I can pop over to the shops for Cam's mum when his dad is at work. (She isn't very mobile and found the idea of borrowing my chair way too scary)

Date: 2014-01-28 04:14 am (UTC)
lilacsigil: 12 Apostles rocks, text "Rock On" (12 Apostles)
From: [personal profile] lilacsigil
I hope it all works out well for you! It sounds like compatible lifestyles and a great public transport hub will help - and a mall that close in case of super-hot days sounds like a plus!

Date: 2014-01-29 01:33 am (UTC)
shehasathree: (Default)
From: [personal profile] shehasathree
Glad you have *somewhere* to go, even if it isn't your own place yet. Glad it sounds like it's going well. :)

Date: 2014-02-04 02:30 pm (UTC)
purrdence: (Default)
From: [personal profile] purrdence
Hello from up the road in Wellard!

October 2017

1 234567
89101112 1314

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Oct. 20th, 2017 05:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios