alias_sqbr: the symbol pi on a pretty background (Default)
[personal profile] alias_sqbr
So I stopped watching "House" early last season, and all I've encountered since then has been via fandom, ie bits of fanfic etc here and there, and some comments about how the writers are quite clearly pandering to fans and slashers etc. I was pretty sure it was still pretty understated (if not entirely in people's imaginations) though.

And then I randomly flipped channels to commercial tv for a change, and hit a trailer for the upcoming episode (8:30 on ten, if you care), which basically implied that House becomes obsessed with a male soap opera star and kidnaps him for his own nefarious purposes, a la Love and Death on Long Island. I sat there incredulous.. and then of course looked it up online.

Alas, the real plot, as exhibited by the american ad, is much less interesting :)

On the ohtr hand, how awesome is it that I can watch an ad and immediately find a synopsis of the episode and a similar ad for the same episode. I love the internet.

Date: 2008-05-28 03:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ariaflame.livejournal.com
Certain TV shows seem to suffer from the 'ad using cleverly selected bits of the show to give completely different impression of the episode than it actually is' more than others. House is a chronic case.

Date: 2008-05-29 01:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hipikat.livejournal.com
The answer isn't always yes.

House and Doctor Who are the only two things I'm still watching :) I still love House (and what's wrong with being pandered to once in a while? Or weekly?) but a large part of my brain wants it to end so I've got the simplicity of only needing to watch one show.

Profile

alias_sqbr: the symbol pi on a pretty background (Default)
alias_sqbr

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 345 67
891011121314
15161718192021
222324252627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:58 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios